In 1721 Bach presented six concertos to Christian Ludwig, Margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt. These concertos - which Bach entitled Six Concertos Avec plusiers Instruments (Six Concertos for Various Instruments) - were not published until 1850 and are known today as the Brandenburg Concertos.

No. 1 BWV 1046 F major Horns, oboes, basson and strings
No. 2 BWV 1047 F major Trumpet, recorder, oboe, violin and strings
No. 3 BWV 1048 G major Strings
No. 4 BWV 1049 G major Recorders, violin and strings
No. 5 BWV 1050 D major Flute, violin, harpsichord and strings
No. 6 BWV 1051 B flat major Violas da braccio, violas da gamba and strings


The following ressources were used to create these pages:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us