In this movement, all the instruments play the role of soloists. We cannot differentiate between soloists (concertino) and orchestra (ripieno) as in a typical baroque concerto grosso.

The first six measures present the thematic material that will serve as the basis for the entire movement. We can consider measures 1 to 13, an exposition or ritornello that will reappear varied throughout the movement in different keys until it is repeated in its original form to conclude the movement.

Between each ritornello or re-exposition, variations of the thematic material of the first measures are developed. We will call these variations episodes. We will visit all the keys close to F major: C major, D minor, B flat major, G minor and A minor.

This is the structure of the first movement of this concerto (click on the sections for a detailed analysis):

1 - 13
F and C major

13 - 27
F major, C major, Bb major and D minor

27 - 33
D minor

33 - 43
D minor and C major

43 - 48
C major and A minor

48 - 57
A minor, G minor and F major

57 - 63
F major and C major

63 - 72
Bb major and F major

72 - 84
First ritornello is repeated.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us