The Major Scale

The major scale has 7 notes. Notes are separated from one another by one whole step or one semitone except for degrees III-IV and degrees VII-I:

escala mayor


The major scale and the minor scale are the most common scales because they have been constantly used for the past four centuries.

See S > Scales for related entries

© 2011 J. Rodríguez Alvira

Are you a member of

Write to us!


Music theory questions? Visit our Google+ Community and we will try to answer. Google Communities

Tweet Follow @teoriaEng