The Diminished Scale

The diminished scale consists of eight notes. There are two types of diminished scales: the whole-step/half-step (or auxiliary diminished) and the half-step/whole-step (or auxiliary diminished dominant). The term diminished comes from the fact that degrees I, III, V, and VII form a diminished seventh chord.

disminuida tono semitono

disminuida semitono-tono

See S > Scales for related entries

© 2011 J. Rodríguez Alvira

Are you a member of

Write to us!


Music theory questions? Visit our Google+ Community and we will try to answer. Google Communities

Tweet Follow @teoriaEng