In minor scales, the VI and VII degrees are often raised. Although it's only one scale with two movable degrees, traditionally, we speak of 3 types of minor scales.

Natural Minor

In the natural minor scale, all notes appear with the same accidentals as in its relative major. Hence the name of natural minor:

natural minor

Harmonic Minor

The seventh degree of a minor scale is very often raised. The resulting scale is a harmonic minor scale because raising the seventh degree is harmonically motivated. Raising that note forms the dominant chord or dominant seventh chord on the fifth degree of the scale:

harmonic minor

Melodic Minor

Besides raising the seventh degree, the sixth degree may also be altered. The resulting scale is called the melodic minor scale. The primary purpose of this accidental is to facilitate the melodic movement from degree sixth to the seventh degree, avoiding the augmented second that is formed in the harmonic minor scale:

melodic minor

In traditional music theory, the melodic minor scale is presented with the raised VI and VII degrees when the scale is ascending while descending without the accidentals:

minor melodic

In real music, we may find the raised degrees ascending and descending.

Search   •    Write to us

Creative Commons License
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
José Rodríguez Alvira.