Since there are three types of minor scales (natural, harmonic, and melodic), there is a greater variety of seventh chords in these scales.

Seventh Chords in the Natural Minor Scale:

Seventh chord in natural minor scales

Seventh Chords in the Harmonic Minor Scale:

Seventh chords in minor harmonic scale

Seventh Chords in the Melodic Minor Scale:

Seventh chords in minor melodic scale

In the harmonic and melodic minor scales, there are two types of sevenths that do not bear any accepted names because they are not frequently used in traditional music. In those cases, the type of triad and seventh interval is used to identify those chords.

See C > Chords for related entries.


Search   •    Write to us

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
José Rodríguez Alvira.