Pentatonic scales are scales consisting of five notes (from the Greek pente: five). These scales have been used extensively in the folk music of various countries. More recently, composers such as Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel have used them in their music.

Although any scale made up of five notes can theoretically be called pentatonic, the following are the most common forms:

Major Pentatonic:

Major pentatonic

Minor Pentatonic:

Minor pentatonic

See S > Scales for related entries

Search   •    Write to us

Creative Commons License
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
José Rodríguez Alvira.