Our music system has seven notes. The order of these notes is C, D, E, F, G, A, and B. These notes correspond to the white keys of the piano:

Notes corresponding to the black keys can either be the previous or next white white key note name preceded by an accidental. For example the black key between the C and D can either be C sharp or D flat.

The names ut (C), re (D), mi (E), fa (F), sol (G) and la (A) used in Spanish, French and Italian were given to musical notes by Guido d'Arezzo using the following hymn:


See Reading Music in the Tutorials section.


Search   •    Write to us

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
José Rodríguez Alvira.